News

News

May 6, 2022

Rebecca Stott’s debut novel DARK EARTH received a starred review from Publishers Weekly. They rave: “Stott follows up the memoir IN THE DAYS OF RAIN with an impressive narrative set in the aftermath of the Roman Empire…Stott concretely captures the brutality of the women’s world, their deep resourcefulness, and the power of the stories that sustain and endanger them. This is a memorable achievement.” Random House will publish the novel on July 19, 2022.

April 29, 2022

Danielle Steel’s latest novel, BEAUTIFUL, will make its debut on the New York Times Bestseller list for the week of May 8, 2022. It will debut at number 2 on both the Hardcover Fiction and the Combined Print & E-book Fiction lists. Delacorte Press published the book on April 19, 2022.

April 29, 2022

THE FINAL REVIVAL OF OPAL & NEV by Dawnie Walton is the winner of the 2022 Aspen Words Literary Prize. The prize jury raves: “As innovative in form as it is soulful in delivery, THE FINAL REVIVAL OF OPAL & NEV is a dazzling exploration of the spectacular and eerie complications of the way race, gender and punk rock necessarily collide…Dawnie Walton blurs the lines between revelation and realization in a book that witnesses, and really undulates under, the weight of professional and personal secrets, while picking away at the very real desire for American progress with few substantial models for reciprocal American reckoning.” The novel was also featured on The Seattle Times’ list of must-read paperbacks for spring, and lauded by Danyel Smith in her interview with The New Yorker: “[THE FINAL REVIVAL OF OPAL & NEV] is just – the genius of that book is not lifted up high enough.” 37 Ink published the book on March 30, 2021.

April 29, 2022

The audio edition of VANDERBILT by Anderson Cooper was included on Booklist’s “Listen Up: Long Summer Listens” feature, as one of three titles in the “Family Epic” bundle. Heather Booth writes: “Finish the summer with Anderson Cooper’s family retrospective about how ‘no one can make money evaporate into air like a Vanderbilt’ and you may find yourself more appreciative of simple summer pleasures unencumbered by fame and fortune.” Harper published the book on September 21, 2021.

April 29, 2022

Tomi Obaro’s highly anticipated DELE WEDS DESTINY received a glowing review from Booklist. Reviewer Enobong Tommelleo writes: “Obaro’s debut novel immerses the reader in the highs and lows of being a Nigerian. She skillfully provides enough context for readers outside of the culture while also writing for Nigerian readers who will see themselves, their mothers, and their aunties in the three protagonists. The three women are complex characters with satisfying arcs, and each displays a different aspect of the diverse groups that make up Nigerian society. But the beauty of the novel lies in their friendship and the complexities of the mother-daughter relationships. A perfect choice for fans of Tayari Jones and Bernardine Evaristo.” Knopf will publish the novel on June 28, 2022.

April 29, 2022

Esquire included Becky Cooper’s WE KEEP THE DEAD CLOSE on its 26-title roundup of must-read true crime books. They praise: “Even as Cooper reveals a complicated list of suspects that expands rather than narrows through the book’s unfolding, WE KEEP THE DEAD CLOSE implicates the institution of Harvard as a whole and the ways its centuries of elitism and discrimination have caused many kinds of violence.” Grand Central Publishing published the book on November 10, 2020.

April 29, 2022

SIRENS & MUSES, Antonia Angress’ forthcoming debut novel, received warm early praise from Electric Lit and Kirkus Reviews. Electric Lit included the novel on its listicle of “The Most Anticipated LGBTQ+ Books for Summer 2022” alongside a glowing review, which reads: “Donna Tartt’s THE SECRET HISTORY meets Meg Wolitzer’s THE INTERESTINGS in this entrancing portrait of three young artists who meet at an elite college at the height of the Occupy movement. Angress so deftly portrays the splendor and squalor of trying to create something great in the face of rampant capitalism, of love and lust in the face of tooth-and-claw competition.” Meanwhile, Kirkus’ review praises the novel as “an intriguing exploration of art and wealth spearheaded by messy, engrossing characters,” adding: “[SIRENS & MUSES] does an admirable job of parsing such difficult issues as the role of capitalism in art, and references to events such as the Occupy movement give the novel real-world context. The main characters have believable flaws and nuances, and the narrative is adept at interrogating the power imbalances in both the characters’ personal relationships and in an art world rife with sexism and classism.” Ballantine Books will publish the novel on July 12, 2022.

April 29, 2022

SORROW AND BLISS by Meg Mason was shortlisted for the prestigious 2022 Women’s Prize for Fiction, which aims to “empower all women to raise their voice and own their story, shining a spotlight on outstanding and ambitious fiction by women from anywhere in the world, regardless of their age, race, nationality or background.” The winner will be announced on June 15. Harper published the book on February 9, 2021.

April 29, 2022

VERY COLD PEOPLE by Sarah Manguso received a stunning review from The Guardian. Reviewer Johanna Thomas-Corr raves: “When I finished VERY COLD PEOPLE, I felt my whole body unclench. In the process of reading this creepy coming-of-age tale, I seemed to have trapped a nerve in my shoulder – it’s that tense...VERY COLD PEOPLE is so different from anything else I’ve read that it feels a bit fatuous to compare it to other works of fiction. We often talk about writers getting under the skin of their characters, but Manguso has a forensic interest in hair follicles, rashes, effluvia and infected cuts…It’s a masterclass in unease. I must confess that I was relieved when the novel was over but it was so skillful, so strange and so unique that I suspect it will stay with me for a very long time.” Hogarth published the novel February 8, 2022.

April 29, 2022

Lucy Corin's THE SWANK HOTEL received a rave review from The Millions. They write: “[I]f Corin’s early books are high-concept experiments (or collections of high-concept experiments) that transcend their concepts, her latest, THE SWANK HOTEL is—in scope, formal ambition, and linguistic sorcery—something else entirely…It’s monumental in the way of fractals: inward looking, but infinite. And in addition to being a scathing, often hilarious critique of consumerism, SWANK might also be the most precise and illuminating novel about psychosis and (attempted) suicide since Mrs. Dalloway…Corin toggles amongst psyches with Woolfian delicacy, complexity, and dexterity.” Graywolf Press published the novel on October 5, 2021.