MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE by Matthew Sullivan

MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE by Matthew Sullivan

May 5, 2017

Library Journal has reviewed MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE, and said of the novel, “though darker than other beloved novels set in bookstores, this story will appeal to fans of Gabrielle Zevin’s The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and Katarina Bivald’s The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend. Mystery readers will also appreciate the clever connections between the characters and the crimes.” Scribner will publish the book June 6, 2017.

GOODBYE VITAMIN by Rachel Khong

GOODBYE VITAMIN by Rachel Khong

May 5, 2017

Rachel Khong’s debut novel GOODBYE VITAMIN receives a glowing review from Kirkus, which writes, “Khong’s pithy observations and cynical humor round out a moving story that sparks empathy where you’d least expect it.” Henry Holt will publish GOODBYE VITAMIN on July 11,2017.

LARGE ANIMALS by Jess Arndt

LARGE ANIMALS by Jess Arndt

May 1, 2017

Jess Arndt’s LARGE ANIMALS receives a rave review from Sarah Gerard in A Women’s Thing. She writes: “Jess Arndt’s debut story collection “Large Animals” (144 pages; Catapult) is intellectual but not above bathroom humor, morbid yet always in service of troubling divisions—between genders, between oneself and another, between different versions of oneself.” Catapult will publish LARGE ANIMALS on May 9, 2017…

DEAR CYBORGS by Eugene Lim

DEAR CYBORGS by Eugene Lim

May 1, 2017

Publishers Weekly gives Eugene Lim’s forthcoming DEAR CYBORGS a starred review, calling it a “short, sly, unorthodox novel… The core relationships are real and profoundly moving.” FSG Originals will publish DEAR CYBORGS on June 6, 2017…

FLY ME by Daniel Riley

FLY ME by Daniel Riley

May 1, 2017

FLY ME was chosen as one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Summer Books of 2017 with a glowing review from Jonathan Segura, executive editor. Segura called the novel “the perfect balance of grit and gloss.” Little, Brown will publish the book on June 6, 2016…

THE AMERICAN SPIRIT by David McCullough

THE AMERICAN SPIRIT by David McCullough

April 17, 2017

In its April 1, 2017 review of David McCullough’s THE AMERICAN SPIRIT, a compilation of 15 speeches he has given over 25 years, Booklist says “McCullough’s legions of fans will flock to this edifying collection. Very few among us possess the encompassing and informed perspective on America’s past and present that historian and bestselling author McCullough has gained over decades of research.” Simon & Schuster will publish the book on April 18, 2017.

UNWANTED ADVANCES by Laura Kipnis

UNWANTED ADVANCES by Laura Kipnis

April 17, 2017

Laura Kipnis’s UNWANTED ADVANCES received a very favorable review in the New York Times, where Jennifer Senior writes that “It is invigorating and irritating, astute and facile, rigorous and flippant, fair-minded and score-settling, practical and hyperbolic… Above all else, though, Unwanted Advances is necessary.” Harper published the book April 4, 2017.

THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE by Katherine Arden

THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE by Katherine Arden

April 17, 2017

THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE received a starred review from School Library Journal, which said, “reading Arden’s debut novel is like listening to an entrancing tale spun out over nights in the best oral tradition… A spellbinding story that will linger with most readers far beyond the final page.” Del Rey published the book January 10, 2017…

SONORA by Hannah Lillith Assadi

SONORA by Hannah Lillith Assadi

April 17, 2017

Hannah Lillith Assadi’s SONORA was written up in the New Yorker’s Briefly Noted section, with the editor’s endorsement: “it powerfully evokes the sense of being an outsider.” The book has also been selected as Bustle’s American Woman Book Club pick for April, which called it “a poetic coming-of-age story about friendship, identity, secrets, and obsession that will haunt you long after you turn the final page.” Soho Press published the book March 28, 2017.

MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE by Matthew Sullivan

MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE by Matthew Sullivan

April 17, 2017

Kirkus and Publishers Weekly both gave early positive reviews to this debut thriller. Kirkus called the novel “an intriguingly dark, twisty story [with] eccentric characters [who] make this book a standout,” and Publishers Weekly said, “quirky characters and a keen sense of place distinguish this multigenerational tale of abandonment, desperation, and betrayal… inventive and intricately plotted.” Scribner will publish the novel June 13, 2017…