BEARSKIN by James McLaughlin

BEARSKIN by James McLaughlin

April 27, 2018

Publisher’s Weekly has given BEARSKIN a starred review, and included it in their Best Books of the Summer roundup. They said of the novel, “the novel’s denouement, a smoothly orchestrated confluence of the greater and lesser subplots, plays out against a tempest-tossed natural setting whose intrinsic beauty and roughness provide the perfect context for the story’s volatile events. This is a thrilling, thoroughly satisfying debut.” Ecco Press will publish the book on June 12, 2018.

THE TRUTH ABOUT ANIMALS by Lucy Cooke

THE TRUTH ABOUT ANIMALS by Lucy Cooke

April 20, 2018

In The Seattle Times, Irene Wanner described Lucy Cooke’s book THE TRUTH ABOUT ANIMALS as “wildly delightful… Lucy Cooke’s extensive travels, research and sense of humor make THE TRUTH ABOUT ANIMALS a fascinating modern bestiary.” Basic Books published the title on April 17, 2018.

TELL ME LIES by Carola Lovering

TELL ME LIES by Carola Lovering

April 16, 2018

Carola Lovering’s novel TELL ME LIES received a great review from Kirkus, which calls the debut a “very sexy story.” Atria will publish TELL ME LIES on June 12, 2018.

ALTERNATIVE REMEDIES FOR LOSS by Joanna Cantor

ALTERNATIVE REMEDIES FOR LOSS by Joanna Cantor

March 29, 2018

Joanna Cantor’s debut novel received a positive review in Publisher’s Weekly. The review calls it a “stellar debut” and says “Cantor’s novel is not only full of unexpected turns but hits all the right emotional notes.” Bloomsbury Publishing will publish the book on May 8, 2018.

THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING by Kiran Hargrave

THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING by Kiran Hargrave

March 29, 2018

VOYA has given THE ISLAND AT THE END OF EVERYTHING a starred review, making the third star for the book. VOYA said of the novel, “Hargrave gives dignity to the colony’s legacy, showcasing the beauty of the island and the strength and love of the residents. Recommend this novel to fans of beautifully imagined historical fiction,” and Publishers Weekly said, “This touching middle grade novel will attract a wide range of readers.” Knopf will publish the book April 10, 2018.

SELFIE by Will Storr

SELFIE by Will Storr

March 29, 2018

USA Today has reviewed SELFIE, saying of the book, “Selfie is an ambitious survey of the influences that make us who we are. In addition to his own experiences and insights, Storr draws on scholarly literature and interviews experts on the human personality.” Overlook Press published the book March 27, 2018.

THE DARK ANGEL by Elly Griffiths

THE DARK ANGEL by Elly Griffiths

March 12, 2018

Booklist has given the tenth installment of the Ruth Galloway Mysteries, THE DARK ANGEL, a starred review. They said of the novel, “The humor is well placed, as are the insightful forays into Italy’s history and people, but the gripping ending leaves no doubt that this is, above all, a mystery… A sure bet for fans of strong-minded women and wry humor in the tradition of Rhys Bowen and M. C.” Houghton Mifflin Harcourt will publish the novel March 15, 2018.

NEON IN DAYLIGHT by Hermione Hoby

NEON IN DAYLIGHT by Hermione Hoby

March 12, 2018

Hermione Hoby has received a second rave review from the New York Times, this time in the Book Review. The NYTBR calls Hoby’s debut novel “smart, stylish.” Catapult published NEON IN DAYLIGHT on January 9, 2018.

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

March 8, 2018

The New York Times Book Review named SMOKETOWN one of “7 New Books We Recommend This Week.” Simon & Schuster published the book on January 30, 2018.

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

February 28, 2018

Mark Whitaker’s latest book was positively reviewed in The New York Times Book Review. The reviewer Herb Boyd calls it “engrossing” and says “Smoketown brilliantly offers us a chance to see this other black renaissance and spend time with the many luminaries who sparked it as well as the often unheralded journalists who covered it, including P. L. Prattis, John C. Clarke, Frank Bolden, Billy Rowe and the photographer Teenie Harris.