SELFIE by Will Storr

SELFIE by Will Storr

March 29, 2018

USA Today has reviewed SELFIE, saying of the book, “Selfie is an ambitious survey of the influences that make us who we are. In addition to his own experiences and insights, Storr draws on scholarly literature and interviews experts on the human personality.” Overlook Press published the book March 27, 2018.

THE DARK ANGEL by Elly Griffiths

THE DARK ANGEL by Elly Griffiths

March 12, 2018

Booklist has given the tenth installment of the Ruth Galloway Mysteries, THE DARK ANGEL, a starred review. They said of the novel, “The humor is well placed, as are the insightful forays into Italy’s history and people, but the gripping ending leaves no doubt that this is, above all, a mystery… A sure bet for fans of strong-minded women and wry humor in the tradition of Rhys Bowen and M. C.” Houghton Mifflin Harcourt will publish the novel March 15, 2018.

NEON IN DAYLIGHT by Hermione Hoby

NEON IN DAYLIGHT by Hermione Hoby

March 12, 2018

Hermione Hoby has received a second rave review from the New York Times, this time in the Book Review. The NYTBR calls Hoby’s debut novel “smart, stylish.” Catapult published NEON IN DAYLIGHT on January 9, 2018.

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

March 8, 2018

The New York Times Book Review named SMOKETOWN one of “7 New Books We Recommend This Week.” Simon & Schuster published the book on January 30, 2018.

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

February 28, 2018

Mark Whitaker’s latest book was positively reviewed in The New York Times Book Review. The reviewer Herb Boyd calls it “engrossing” and says “Smoketown brilliantly offers us a chance to see this other black renaissance and spend time with the many luminaries who sparked it as well as the often unheralded journalists who covered it, including P. L. Prattis, John C. Clarke, Frank Bolden, Billy Rowe and the photographer Teenie Harris.

RESTLESS SOULS by Dan Sheehan

RESTLESS SOULS by Dan Sheehan

February 28, 2018

Kirkus has given RESTLESS SOULS a starred review, calling the debut novel, “a moving journey through grief, loss, war, and new beginnings for three childhood friends on the cusp of finally growing up,” and “a paean to friendship and the resilience of the human spirit.” IG Publishing will publish the book on April 10, 2018.

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

SMOKETOWN by Mark Whitaker

February 16, 2018

Mark Whitaker’s history of the Black Renaissance in Pittsburgh received a positive review in The Guardian. The reviewer Charles Kaiser calls the book “an enticing history of the black culture of mid-20th century Pittsburgh, filled with engaging musicians, athletes, and journalists” and says “This book is a timely reminder of the hideous obstacles black Americans still faced eight decades after Abraham Lincoln had signed the Emancipation Proclamation.” Simon & Schuster published the book on January 30, 2018.

STRAY CITY by Chelsey Johnson

STRAY CITY by Chelsey Johnson

February 16, 2018

STRAY CITY received a starred review in Booklist. The reviews calls it a “terrific debut” and recommends it “to Jami Attenberg and Rainbow Rowell fans.” Custom House will publish the book on March 20, 2018.

BEARSKIN by Jim McLaughlin

BEARSKIN by Jim McLaughlin

February 9, 2018

Library Journal reviewed BEARSKIN, saying of the novel, “Vivid and often dreamlike prose… . [With] lush, hallucinatory sequences… . This versatile debut … successfully straddles the line between the evocative erudition of Gabriel Tallent’s My Absolute Darling, Tom Franklin’s Poachers, and page-turning suspense of C.J. Box.” Ecco will publish the book June 12, 2018.

RESTLESS SOULS by Dan Sheehan

RESTLESS SOULS by Dan Sheehan

February 9, 2018

Kirkus reviewed RESTLESS SOULS, calling the novel “a moving journey through grief, loss, war and new beginnings,” and “a paean to friendship and the resilience of the human spirit.” Ig Publishing will publish the book April 10, 2018.