A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming

July 21, 2014

Library Journal says of Charles Cumming’s book, “This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré” St. Martin’s Press publishes the hardcover August 5, 2014.

MEN: NOTES FROM AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION by Laura Kipnis

MEN: NOTES FROM AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION by Laura Kipnis

July 21, 2014

Laura Kipnis’ MEN received a starred, boxed review in Publishers Weekly. “Kipnis’ gifts are on full display in this irresistible collection of essays, in which she weaves together complex and penetrating insights about gender into provocative treatises…Kipnis has given us a necessary, and often witty, book that shows a brilliant, agile mind at work.” Metropolitan Books will publish the book on November 18, 2014.

DIRTY WORK by Gabriel Weston

DIRTY WORK by Gabriel Weston

July 14, 2014

Gabriel Weston was recently interviewed by Publisher’s Weekly in advance of the book’s U.S. publication. The book has already been published the UK where it received a rave review in the Guardian, which called it “a bold, brave and utterly gripping read.” Little Brown will publish the book in the U.S. on August 12, 2014.

YOU’RE NOT MUCH USE TO ANYONE  by David Shapiro

YOU’RE NOT MUCH USE TO ANYONE by David Shapiro

July 14, 2014

Adelle Waldman, author of THE LOVE AFFAIRS OF NATHANIEL P. described YOURE NOT MUCH USE TO ANYONE as “deliciously capture[ing] the plight of the early twenty-something liberal arts major set adrift in a world not especially congenial to his or her particular skill set. It’s a very fun and surprisingly poignant read.”

GHOST MONTH by Ed Lin

GHOST MONTH by Ed Lin

July 14, 2014

In a starred review, Library Journal said of GHOST MONTH, “Taiwan’s traditions play a major role in Lin’s category-defying thriller that manages to be both funny and profound. Lin writes with strong literary overtones and delivers a bang-up finale sure to keep readers engaged well past lights out.” Soho Crime will publish the book on July 29, 2014.

LATITUDE ZERO by Diana Renn

LATITUDE ZERO by Diana Renn

July 14, 2014

Publisher’s Weekly describes LATITUDE ZERO as “[A] twisty thriller … it evolves from murder mystery to globe-trotting intrigue, with plenty of false leads and red herrings to keep readers guessing.” Tessa is one of the last people to speak with Juan Carlos, the young Ecuadorian cycling superstar. When he is found dead, of a presumed accident, it’s up to her to uncover the truth. Viking Juvenile published the book on July 3, 2014.

BOY ON ICE: The Life and Death of Derek Boorgaard by John Branch

BOY ON ICE: The Life and Death of Derek Boorgaard by John Branch

June 24, 2014

BOY ON ICE received a starred review in Publishers Weekly. The review calls it “tense and exciting as a hockey game,” and says that “Branch captures the sorrow and anguish of a young athlete’s career collapsing…and asks piercing questions about violence in sports.” The book originated as series by the Pulitzer Prize winning author John Branch in the New York Times. Norton will publish the book Oct. 1, 2014.

THE PERFECT KILL by Robert Baer

THE PERFECT KILL by Robert Baer

June 24, 2014

The Perfect Kill: 21 Laws for Assassins, by World-class provocateur and 23-year CIA veteran Robert Baer is anticipated in hardcover in October. Recently the book has been optioned by Brian Grazer and set up at Fox 21. Blue Rider Press will publish the hardcover on October 28, 2014.

NOT MY FATHER’S SON by Alan Cumming

NOT MY FATHER’S SON by Alan Cumming

June 24, 2014

Although his brave memoir won’t be published until October, you can see Alan Cumming now on Broadway in CABARET (live) and on You Tube (recorded) as the host of Book Expo America 2014’s May 31st Author Breakfast event. Dey St. will publish the hardcover October 7, 2014.

THE HIGH DIVIDE by Lin Enger

THE HIGH DIVIDE by Lin Enger

June 24, 2014

Lin Enger’s THE HIGH DIVIDE was reviewed by Booklist, which said, “This is a gripping story with well portrayed, complex, and sympathetic main characters and a complement of believable secondary figures in a vividly described region nearing the close of an era. Enger is an author worth watching.” Algonquin will publish the book on September 23, 2014.