PJ Mark

People category

PJ Mark
Literary Agent

PJ Mark moved to NYC in 1990 and used his student loans to start a literary journal to publish his friends. He began his career as an international book scout in 1993, has worked as a journalist covering the book beat and has been a literary agent since 2002.

He is interested in literary fiction and narrative non-fiction. Recent and forthcoming titles include: Heavy by Kiese Laymon, Crudo by Olivia Laing, The Old Drift by Namwali Serpell, Rules for Visiting by Jessica Francis Kane, The Ash Family by Molly Dektar, In West Mills by De’Shawn Charles Winslow, Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl by Andrea Lawlor, We Cast a Shadow by Maurice Carlos Ruffin, Places and Names by Elliot Ackerman, Riddance by Shelley Jackson, Minor Feelings by Cathy Park Hong and Savage Appetites by Rachel Monroe.

PJ’s authors regularly receive numerous awards and honors, including, on multiple occasions, the “5 Under 35” honor by the National Book Award Foundation, the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction by the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Art Seidenbaum Award by the Los Angeles Times, the Rome Prize by the American Academy in Rome, multiple awards from the National Endowment for the Arts, a “20 Under 40” honor by The New Yorker, The Pulitzer Prize for Investigative Journalism, the Guardian First Book Award, the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Windham Campbell Prize and National Book Award finalist medals.

Selected authors

  • Elliot Ackerman
  • Hannah Lillith Assadi
  • Ramona Ausubel
  • Rachel Aviv
  • Rosecrans Baldwin
  • Carlene Bauer
  • Harry Dodge
  • Gabriela Garcia
  • Jim Gavin
  • Manuel Gonzales
  • Gabe Habash
  • Joe Hagan
  • Cathy Park Hong
  • Samantha Hunt
  • Shelley Jackson
  • Chelsey Johnson
  • Robert Jones, Jr.
  • Jessica Francis Kane
  • Kate Kelly
  • Wayne Koestenbaum
  • Olivia Laing
  • Andrea Lawlor
  • Kiese Laymon
  • Sarah Manguso
  • Dinaw Mengestu
  • Rachel Monroe
  • Eileen Myles
  • Stuart Nadler
  • Maggie Nelson
  • Idra Novey
  • Ed Park
  • Derek Palacio
  • Robin Pogrebin
  • Ismet Prcic
  • Maurice Carlos Ruffin
  • James Scott
  • Jan-Philipp Sendker
  • Namwali Serpell
  • Christopher Sorrentino
  • Rene Steinke
  • Craig Thompson
  • Ted Thompson
  • Dawnie Walton
  • Josh Weil
  • De’Shawn Charles Winslow
  • Sunil Yapa