News

News

THE LOST BOOK OF ADANA MOREAU by Michael Zapata
February 7, 2020

Michael Zapata's debut novel THE LOST BOOK OF ADANA MOREAU was recently published to great acclaim, garnering praise from the New York Times, the Washington Post, NPR, Salon, and the Chicago Tribune, as well as New City Lit, Vol. 1 Brooklyn, Little Village, Jackson Free Press, Medium, and Chicago Review of Books. It was named one of Apple's Best Books of the Month for February, and it has been hailed as "an absolutely stunning piece of work, and . . . the best book you'll read this year." An excerpt was also featured on Lit Hub. Hanover Square Press published the book on February 4, 2020.

ELECTION MELTDOWN by Richard Hasen
February 7, 2020

In the aftermath of the Iowa Caucuses, Richard Hasen’s timely book has received a lot of attention. The author has written recent op-eds for the Washington Post and Slate. He has also been interviewed by Los Angeles Times columnist Patt Morrison and has been featured on the podcasts Pod Save the People and Amicus with Dahlia Lithwick. Yale University Press published the book on February 4, 2020.

HUSH by Dylan Farrow
February 7, 2020

An excerpt from HUSH, Dylan Farrow’s debut fantasy novel, was published in an article by Vanity Fair. Wednesday Books will publish the book on October 6, 2020.

THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas
January 31, 2020

Book Riot named THE HATE U GIVE by Angie Thomas one of the best books of the decade, writing: "THE HATE U GIVE launched Angie Thomas’s career and burst like a comet onto the publishing scene. I am not sure there was a more important book published since 2010." Balzer + Bray published the book on February 28, 2017.

TIGHTROPE by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn
January 31, 2020

The latest book from the Pulitzer Prize winning authors Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn will make its debut on the New York Times Bestseller List for the week of February 2, 2020. The book will debut at number 2 on the Hardcover Nonfiction and at number 3 on the Combined Print & E-book Nonfiction list.

VERONA COMICS by Jennifer Dugan
January 31, 2020

VERONA COMICS by Jennifer Dugan has been hailed by Kirkus as “breathlessly sweet.” The site also commends the book for “featuring a racially diverse cast of mainly queer characters” and calls it “a winning choice.” The novel is about two teens whose innocent meet-cute at a comic convention grows more complicated as a feud between their parents, who own rival comic stores, threatens to pull them apart. G. P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers will publish the book on April 21, 2020.

YES NO MAYBE SO by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed
January 31, 2020

Shelf Awareness describes YES NO MAYBE SO by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed, a realistic YA contemporary about two teens who spend their summer knocking on doors for a local political campaign and experiencing the voting public firsthand, as "a powerful response to the 'bigotry and hateful rhetoric' that came after the 2016 presidential election." Balzer + Bray will publish the book on February 4, 2020.

THE LOST BOOK OF ADANA MOREAU by Michael Zapata
January 31, 2020

Michael Zapata's debut novel THE LOST BOOK OF ADANA MOREAU has garnered three starred reviews from Book Page, Booklist, and Library Journal, which praise it as "a thrillingly mysterious storyline with a beautiful payoff," "a lush, spellbinding tale," and "a heady literary and genre-bending novel for fans of Jorge Luis Borges, Carlos Fuentes, and Adolfo Bioy Caseres." The novel has also been compared to the works of Gabriel García Márquez and Jesmyn Ward. It was additionally named a most anticipated book of 2020 by The Boston Globe, The Millions, and Columbia Journal. Hanover Square Press will publish the book on February 4, 2020.

THE EXHIBITION OF PERSEPHONE Q by Jessi Jezewska Stevens
January 31, 2020

Jessi Jezewska Stevens's debut novel THE EXHIBITION OF PERSEPHONE Q has received glowing reviews from Booklist, Bookforum, Publisher’s Weekly, and Kirkus. Booklist calls Percy a “quirky and vivid narrator” and says that “the book’s poetic language and realistically absurd characters will keep readers intrigued until the final page." Additionally, Bookforum’s Justin Taylor writes: “Jessi Jezewska Stevens is a promising, persuasive new writer, and I will be surprised if this doesn’t turn out to be one of the strongest debut novels of 2020." The novel has also been named a most anticipated book of 2020 by The Wall Street Journal, Vogue, and Literary Hub. Farrar, Straus and Giroux will publish the book on March 3, 2020.

ELECTION MELTDOWN by Richard Hasen
January 31, 2020

Richard Hasen, a Law Professor and founder of the Election Law Blog, was interviewed on NPR’s Fresh Air about his forthcoming book ELECTION MELTDOWN. Yale University Press will publish the book on February 4, 2020.