Lynn Nesbit

Lynn Nesbit
Literary Agent

Lynn Nesbit grew up in Dundee, Illinois and graduated from Northwestern University with a B.A. in Speech. She attended the Sorbonne and the Radcliffe Publishing Procedures Course. In the fall of 1960, she joined the Sterling Lord Agency, and in 1965 moved to create and run for twenty-three years the literary department for what later became International Creative Management. In January 1989, she formed a partnership with Morton Janklow — Janklow & Nesbit Associates.

Ms. Nesbit has served on the Board of Trustees of Partisan Review, the New York Institute for Humanities and the Literature Council for the National Endowment for the Arts. She is currently on the Board of the National Book Foundation.

In 1991, she was a recipient of the Matrix Award, presented by New York Women in Communications, Inc. She received the Alumnae Award of 1994 from the Alumnae Board of Northwestern University. She is a member of the Century Association and the Council on Foreign Relations.

Lynn Nesbit represents both fiction and nonfiction writers.

Selected authors

  • Ann Beattie
  • A. Scott Berg
  • Thomas Cahill
  • Robert A. Caro
  • Jimmy Carter
  • Joan Didion
  • Jeffrey Eugenides
  • Robert Goolrick
  • Andrew Sean Greer
  • Shirley Hazzard
  • Robert Hughes
  • Michael Korda
  • Jonathan Kozol
  • Jayne Anne Phillips
  • Richard Price
  • Felix Rohatyn
  • Anne Rice
  • Amartya Sen
  • Gay Talese
  • Tom Wolfe