News

News

CAN’T EVEN by Anne Helen Petersen
September 11, 2020

Former BuzzFeed News culture reporter Anne Helen Petersen’s upcoming book, CAN’T EVEN, has received two starred reviews. Booklist writes: “This galvanizing read reminds readers that what seems impossible is absolutely not, especially for a generation with so little to lose. Meanwhile, Kirkus raves: “In articulate and persuasive prose . . . Petersen delivers a cogent explanation of the millennial landscape, incorporating in-depth research, interviews, and her own experiences to define the problems that millennials face as they attempt to live up to high, occasionally near-impossible expectations.” CAN’T EVEN has also been named a best book of Fall 2020 by Fortune, EW, and Book Riot, among others, and has been selected as an Amazon Best Book of September. HMH will publish the book on September 22, 2020.

WE KEEP THE DEAD CLOSE by Becky Cooper
September 11, 2020

Former New Yorker staff writer Becky Cooper’s WE KEEP THE DEAD CLOSE has received another glowing review from Library Journal. They write that “Cooper’s suspenseful, intensely intimate work casts a critical lens on institutional misogyny,” adding that the novel is “[s]ure to appeal to true crime readers, especially fans of Michelle McNamara’s I’LL BE GONE IN THE DARK.” Cooper also sat down for a Q&A with Publishers Weekly about the ten years’ worth of research she conducted for the book. Additionally, WE KEEP THE DEAD CLOSE has been named a recommended read for the fall by Town & Country, Refinery29, and several other outlets. Grand Central will publish the book on November 10, 2020.

LIFE EVENTS by Karolina Waclawiak
September 11, 2020

Karolina Waclawiak was interviewed on The Maris Review podcast about her new novel LIFE EVENTS. She reveals that her initial inspiration for the novel came from listening to a podcast about exit guides, or people who assist the terminally ill in navigating death. She says, “I became absolutely fascinated because I had never heard of this. I started thinking about, who does this? I went down a total rabbit hole of what this kind of world is.” Farrar, Straus & Giroux published the book on July 28, 2020.

ROYAL by Danielle Steel
September 10, 2020

The latest novel by Danielle Steel made its debut on the New York Times Bestseller list for the week of September 6th. It debuted at number 1 on the Combined Print and E-book Fiction list and at number 2 on the Hardcover Fiction list. Dell published the book on August 18, 2020.

TELL ME LIES by Carola Lovering
September 10, 2020

Deadline announced on Tuesday, September 1 that Emma Roberts has signed a first-look deal with Hulu, and the actress and Belletrist co-founder has set a TV adaptation of Carola Lovering’s TELL ME LIES as her first project, with Lovering serving as a consulting producer. Atria Books published the novel on June 12, 2018, and Lovering’s next novel, TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, will be published by St. Martin’s Press on March 2, 2021.

THE RESIDENCE by Andrew Pyper
September 10, 2020

The Globe and Mail has kind words for Andrew Pyper’s latest novel THE RESIDENCE. They write: "Pyper’s ability to make one question truths, what they witness, and even their own existence, is horror in the tradition of Henry James’s TURN OF THE SCREW and Shirley Jackson’s THE HAUNTING OF HILL HOUSE." Skybound published the book on September 1, 2020.

THE NEW GREAT DEPRESSION by James Rickards
September 10, 2020

Kirkus Reviews praised THE NEW GREAT DEPRESSION by James Rickards as “[a]n ambitious, eccentric look at the wreckage of the American economy in a time of pandemic . . . good takeaways amid the swirl and mayhem. A blend of alarmism, intrigue, and solid financial advice.” Portfolio will publish the book on October 27, 2020.

WHY WE BELIEVE by Agustín Fuentes
September 10, 2020

WHY WE BELIEVE by Agustín Fuentes has been awarded the inaugural International Society for Science & Religion (ISSR) Book Prize in the Field of Science and Religion, in the ‘popular’ category. The ISSR writes: “This is an accessible and beautifully clear account of how our capacity for belief has evolved and its vital importance in human societies. In this rich, interdisciplinary book, Fuentes identifies belief as that which shapes economics and a range of other human activities beyond religion.” Yale University Press published the book on September 24, 2019.

COLLECTED STORIES by Shirley Hazzard
September 10, 2020

Vulture featured Shirley Hazzard’s COLLECTED STORIES as one of their “19 Books We’re Excited to Read this Fall.” They write: “It sent me straight back to the bookshelf for another read of [Hazzard’s] THE GREAT FIRE and TRANSIT OF VENUS, and reignited my quest to become a connoisseur of too-little-loved mid-century female writers.” Farrar, Straus & Giroux will publish the book on November 3, 2020.

STRANGER FACES by Namwali Serpell
September 10, 2020

Vulture featured Namwali Serpell’s STRANGER FACES as one of their “19 Books We’re Excited to Read this Fall.” In their write-up, they call the book a “delightful deep dive.” Transit Books will publish the book on October 20, 2020.