LARGE ANIMALS by Jess Arndt

LARGE ANIMALS by Jess Arndt

19th May 2017

Jess Arndt’s debut collection LARGE ANIMALS tops Brit + Co’s list of 3 New Sets of Short Stories That Speak Volumes, and lands on Bookriot’s list of 12 Excellent Small Press Books to Check Out in May and Lesbrary’s Queer Women Books Out In May. Lesbrary writes, “ Jess Arndt’s striking debut collection confronts what it means to have a body… Large Animals pitches toward the heart, pushing at all our most tender parts―our sex organs, our geography, our words, and the tendons and nerves of our culture.” Jess was also interviewed by New York Magazine’s The Cut.

Read the full article >>

FLY ME by Daniel Riley

FLY ME by Daniel Riley

19th May 2017

GQ Magazine and Marie Claire both plugged FLY ME, saying of the novel, “come for the intoxicating beach imagery… stay for a moody novel of savvy babes and sunburned intrigue,” and “this is an excellent time capsule of 70s nostalgia” respectively. It was also listed as one of goop’s 16 Great Reads of the Summer, which said FLY ME is “packed with a little bit of everything,” and “you’ll be hard-pressed to put this one down.” Little, Brown will publish the book June 6, 2017….

Read the full article >>

THE GUNS ABOVE  by Robyn Bennis

THE GUNS ABOVE by Robyn Bennis

19th May 2017

Library Journal has given THE GUNS ABOVE a starred review, giving the verdict, “This military steampunky fantasy debut, filled with quick action, witty dialog, and appealing characters, will bring joy to fans of Naomi Novik’s ‘Temeraire’ series.” Tor published the book May 2, 2017….

Read the full article >>

THE AMERICAN SPIRIT by David McCullough

THE AMERICAN SPIRIT by David McCullough

12th May 2017

THE AMERICAN SPIRIT, a collection of speeches by David McCullough debuted on the New York Times bestseller lists for the week of May 7th. It appeared at number 7 on the Hardcover Non-fiction and number 10 on the Combined Print & E-book list.

Read the full article >>

THE SHANNARA CHRONICLES by Terry Brooks

THE SHANNARA CHRONICLES by Terry Brooks

12th May 2017

The next season of THE SHANNARA CHRONICLES, based on Terry Brooks bestselling series of fantasy novels, will air on a new network. The 10 episode second season will air this fall on Spike TV after the 1st season aired on MTV. The next novel in the series THE BLACK ELFSTONE, will be published by Del Rey on June 13, 2017.

Read the full article >>

PARTY GIRLS DIE IN PEARLS by Plum Sykes

PARTY GIRLS DIE IN PEARLS by Plum Sykes

12th May 2017

CLUELESS meets Agatha Christie in this wickedly funny tale of high society and low morals set in Oxford in the wild, extravagant early 1980s. Harper published the hardcover May 9th 2017.

Read the full article >>

WAYS TO DISAPPEAR by Idra Novey

WAYS TO DISAPPEAR by Idra Novey

5th May 2017

Idra Novey’s debut novel was awarded the Sami Rohr Prize by the Jewish Book Council. According to the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, the $100,000 award is given to “emerging writers who articulate the Jewish experience as determined by a specific work, as well as the author’s potential to make significant ongoing contributions to Jewish literature.” The paperback edition of WAYS TO DISAPPEAR was published on January 17, 2017.

Read the full article >>

 FAST AND LOOSE by Stuart Woods

FAST AND LOOSE by Stuart Woods

5th May 2017

The 41st Stone Barrington novel from Stuart Woods will debut on the New York Times Bestseller List this weekend. It will debut at number 2 on the Combined Print & E-book Fiction and number 3 on the Hardcover Fiction bestseller list. G.P. Putnam Sons published the book on April 18, 2017.

Read the full article >>

MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE by Matthew Sullivan

MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE by Matthew Sullivan

5th May 2017

Library Journal has reviewed MIDNIGHT AT THE BRIGHT IDEAS BOOKSTORE, and said of the novel, “though darker than other beloved novels set in bookstores, this story will appeal to fans of Gabrielle Zevin’s The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry and Katarina Bivald’s The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend. Mystery readers will also appreciate the clever connections between the characters and the crimes.” Scribner will publish the book June 6, 2017.

Read the full article >>

LARGE ANIMALS by Jess Arndt

LARGE ANIMALS by Jess Arndt

5th May 2017

Jess Arndt’s story “Together,” from her forthcoming collection LARGE ANIMALS, is featured in Electric Literature’s Recommended Reading. Justin Torres recommended the story, writing, “Arndt writes with such poetry and such precision, that the force of the communication damn near knocks you over… I can think of no better description for the transformative power of Arndt’s stories — willful.” Catapult will publish LARGE ANIMALS on May 9, 2017.

Read the full article >>

GOODBYE VITAMIN by Rachel Khong

GOODBYE VITAMIN by Rachel Khong

5th May 2017

Rachel Khong’s debut novel GOODBYE VITAMIN receives a glowing review from Kirkus, which writes, “Khong’s pithy observations and cynical humor round out a moving story that sparks empathy where you’d least expect it.” Henry Holt will publish GOODBYE VITAMIN on July 11,2017.

Read the full article >>

Anne Rice, PRINCE LESTAT AND THE REALMS OF ATLANTIS

Anne Rice, THE VAMPIRE CHRONICLES

1st May 2017

Paramount Television and Anonymous Content have optioned rights to the 11 books in Anne Rice’s bestselling series of books called “The Vampire Chronicles.” The first book in the series, INTERVIEW WITH THE VAMPIRE was published in 1976 and was previously made into a movie in 1994 starring Tom Cruise; the most recent book PRINCE LESTAT & THE REALMS OF ATLANTIS, is the 12th book in the series and was published by Knopf on November 29, 2016.

Read the full article >>