UNBROKEN by Lauren Hillenbrand

25th July 2014

After 178 weeks on the New York Times’s bestseller list, Lauren Hillenbrand’s UNBROKEN is back at number one for the second week in a row. An account of Louis Zamperini’s experience of World War II, UNBROKEN will soon be in theatres this winter in a film directed by Angelina Jolie and with a screenplay written by the Coen brothers. Random House originally published UNBROKEN in November, 2010. For more information, please check the book’s website:

Read the full article >>

A PERFECT LIFE by Danielle Steel

A PERFECT LIFE by Danielle Steel

23rd July 2014

Booklist pronounces A PERFECT LIFE “another sudsy glitz-and-glamour love story from the inimitable Steel; her fans will love it.” Blaise McCarthy must face the truths of her life when her blind daughter comes home to life with her. Her new caretaker, a young man named Simon, challenges both women to face their fears and move forward. Delacorte Press published the book on July 22, 2014.

Read the full article >>

THE NEVER LIST by Koethi Zan

THE NEVER LIST by Koethi Zan

23rd July 2014

For years, Sarah Farber and her best friend, Jennifer, kept what they called the Never List: a list of actions to be avoided at all costs, for safety’s sake. But one night, against their best instincts, they accept a cab ride—one with grave, everlasting consequences. Jeffrey Deaver, author of the Lincoln Rhyme series, warns and entices readers of THE NEVER LIST by Koethi Zan by saying, “Psychological thriller writing at its best. Cancel appointments and give up on sleep. It’s that kind of book.” Plenty of people have taken his advice, as the book is now the 7th bestselling debut novel in the United Kingdom for 2014. Penguin Books published the paperback edition on June 24th, 2014.

Read the full article >>

THE GREAT GLASS SEA by Josh Weil

THE GREAT GLASS SEA by Josh Weil

23rd July 2014

Josh Weil’s THE GREAT GLASS SEA was reviewed in the New York Times Book Review, calling it “a fascinating debut novel … magnificent … hauntingly beautiful … gorgeous … a fantastical vision inspired by bits and piece of Russian language, history and culture … beautifully baffled by the mysterious Russian soul.” Brothers Yarik and Dima find themselves on opposite sides of a cultural revolution, set in a fantastical version of post-Soviet Russia. Grove Atlantic published the book on July 2, 2014.

Read the full article >>

TERRY BROOKS, The Sword of Shanarra

TERRY BROOKS’ SHANNARA SERIES HEADING TO MTV

21st July 2014

MTV has announced the series pick-up for SHANNARA, based on the international best-selling fantasy novels from author Terry Brooks. Additionally, Jonathan Liebesman (Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles) has signed on to direct the first two episodes. MTV and producing partner Sonar Entertainment announced the development deal in December. Al Gough and Miles Millar (“Smallville) will write and executive produce the series, which is greenlit for 10 episodes.

Read the full article >>

THE EMPTY QUARTER by David L. Robbins

THE EMPTY QUARTER by David L. Robbins

21st July 2014

As part of the Kindle First program, David’s pulse-quickening military thriller leapt to become #2 in the Kindle Store as of July 21st. Thomas & Mercer’s release date is August 1, 2014.

Read the full article >>

10% HAPPIER by Dan Harris

10% HAPPIER by Dan Harris

21st July 2014

Mr. Harris’s book is #16 on the Los Angeles Times Bestseller list for the week of July 20, 2014 and is featured in a piece on the New Yorker’s blog. IT books published the book in hardcover March 11, 2014.

Read the full article >>

THE BEAUTIFUL THINGS THAT HEAVEN BEARS by Dinaw Mengestu

THE BEAUTIFUL THINGS THAT HEAVEN BEARS by Dinaw Mengestu

21st July 2014

Dinaw Mengestu’s THE BEAUTIFUL THINGS THAT HEAVEN BEARS has been voted the winner of Washington, D.C.’s annual one city, one book program: DC Reads. Thousands of votes were cast to the public. He is congratulated by the DC Public Library, the Washington Humanities Council, the DC Public Library Foundation, and the Federation of Friends of the DC Public Library.

Read the full article >>

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming

A COLDER WAR by Charles Cumming

21st July 2014

Library Journal says of Charles Cumming’s book, “This fast-paced thriller is full of twists, turns, and surprises. With well-developed, complex characters and plenty of details about spycraft, it’s a perfect summer read for fans of Stella Rimington and John le Carré” St. Martin’s Press publishes the hardcover August 5, 2014.

Read the full article >>

Dinaw Mengestu

Dinaw Mengestu

21st July 2014

Dinaw Mengestu was featured in a front page New York Times article, “A New Wave of Internationalist Writers,” in which he was quoted saying, “There’s this investigation of what happens to the dislocated soul,” said Mr. Mengestu, 36, the author of “All Our Names” and a MacArthur “genius” award winner, who was born in Ethiopia but left at age 2 and grew up in Illinois.”

Read the full article >>

MEN: NOTES FROM AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION by Laura Kipnis

MEN: NOTES FROM AN ONGOING INVESTIGATION by Laura Kipnis

21st July 2014

Laura Kipnis’ MEN received a starred, boxed review in Publishers Weekly. “Kipnis’ gifts are on full display in this irresistible collection of essays, in which she weaves together complex and penetrating insights about gender into provocative treatises…Kipnis has given us a necessary, and often witty, book that shows a brilliant, agile mind at work.” Metropolitan Books will publish the book on November 18, 2014.

Read the full article >>

THE GREAT GLASS SEA by Josh Weil

THE GREAT GLASS SEA by Josh Weil

21st July 2014

Josh Weil’s THE GREAT GLASS SEA has been longlisted for 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize, awarded to the best debut novel of the year by the Center For Fiction. Grove Atlantic published the book on July 2, 2014.

Read the full article >>